In which I receive a prestigious award

Medieval Otaku has recently bequeathed me yet another one of these award things. The rules seem pretty familiar:

  1. Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog
  2. Share 7 facts about yourself
  3. Nominate at most 15 people
  4. Tell your nominees the good news!

So let’s get this started: thanks, Medieval Otaku!

Now onto the facts.

1.I recently completed my thesis (all that remains is to get it bound), which also means that I’ve wrapped up my Master of Theological Studies degree. Truth be told, going through the whole ordeal has given me second thoughts about whether I’m cut out for academic work. I love learning things and taking classes, but when it came time to actually produce something substantial of my own, the passion quickly dissipated and it felt like a ball and chain around my ankle. Thus I’ve landed myself in yet another awkward transitional phase. I do appreciate having a thesis under my belt, though.

A realistic depiction of yours truly in the midst of his academic travails

2.I recently decided to start drawing myself as a dragon (as you do), and have kinda fallen in love with the look. My most recent NaNoWriMo novel was about a weredragon and I guess the idea stuck. As a skinny guy I also find something amusing about portraying myself as a big lumbering lizard. Stuff like this is the real reason why I’m a confirmed bachelor. Anyhow, here’s a slightly more polished take:

3.As the pictures suggest, I have curly hair. It seems to be my most notable feature to others, so I made sure it survived the transition.

4.Oh geez I have to do seven of these things? Well, I’ve enrolled in a drawing class at the local art college. My silly drawings have been the one thing I’ve been consistently passionate about these recent months, and I want to see how far I can push myself.

5.I’m listening to Mahler’s 7th Symphony as I type this. True to its subtitle, it makes for good night music.

6.On that note, my taste in classical music leans pretty heavily towards lush 19th century romanticism and the freakier 20th century stuff that gradually spawned from it.

7.I haven’t been keeping up with other blogs in recent months as much as I should have! And I’m going to use this as an excuse to weasel out of producing a list of nominees.

(I mean, if you really super duper want to be nominated, do ask)

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in fragments of culture, higher education, pop culture and its discontents, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

