Better late than never

Derp.

I penned a Halloween-inspired post for Beneath the Tangles and then failed to share it on here in a timely fashion. Oh well – it’s not quite Advent yet, so perhaps I’m still in the clear.

Anyway:

The 1990 NES classic Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse opens with a striking image. Our hero, Trevor Belmont, is seen kneeling in front a cross in prayer before heading off to slay Dracula. And, indeed, along with his trusty whip, an axe and a knife, Trevor also makes use of holy water, rosaries and crosses in his battle with the forces of darkness. It’s rare in pop culture – especially in video games – to see a protagonist so unapologetically identified as a Christian. And yet it feels almost unremarkable within the horror aesthetic of Konami’s franchise (imagine, as a thought experiment, the public reaction to a sports game where your character would pray before a cross in preparation for a match).

(Read the rest here)

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better late than never

  1. jubilare says:

    ” But I’ve always found it to be paradoxically consoling in a manner similar to the Psalms of lament in the Old Testament. It reminds me that the suffering we face in life is not only acknowledged by God, but something he is present with us in.” This, so very much.

    Also, I’ve always liked vampires to be monstrous. I’m rather allergic to the sanitized/fetishized pop-culture-darling versions. Just like the fetishizing of abuse, fetishizing vampires smacks of embracing evil because it is superficially attractive, whilst ignoring its destructiveness, which to me, undermines the whole point of vampires. but I can rant on the ins and outs of folklore for days. As it is, my brain is melty, so I’d better halt.
    Apologies for being so absent. I still feel like hermiting, but I know it won’t fix anything, so I am trying to crawl out of my metaphorical cave.

  2. a991807 says:

    A good article on Castlevania and fighting evil. It’s ironic that many modern games have protagonists that are more apathetic to the idea of fighting evil or are just going through the motions. I guess it’s just a sign of our culture’s spiritual weakness that game makers can’t get excited about fighting evil anymore.

Leave a Reply

