Creative blogger award

eva congrats

About a billion years ago, I got nominated by both Jubilare and Medieval Otaku for a so-called “Creative Blogger Award.” Perhaps it’s time I get around to writing something about it here.

The rules are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  • Share 5 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 10 – 20 bloggers and add their links.
  • Notify the bloggers you included.
  • Keep the rules in your post to make it easy for everyone to know what to do!

So, first off: thanks, guys!

Truth be told, it’s often difficult to talk about myself in a manner that is neither boring nor TMI. Hopefully I can avoid those extremes in the FAQ style I’ve adopted.

1. So, you’re a brony, and a Disney fan, and your favourite Final Fantasy character is that rat lady from FFIX and I mean just look at your gravatar. I’m just connecting the dots here, but are you…are you….a furry?

rabbitsona

…Maybe. I suppose I’ve backed myself into this corner.

There’s kinda a symmetry in my life where I converted to a religion which is frequently held with disdain, if not actual contempt by the mainstream culture, while also stumbling into the periphery of the various fandoms that are also viewed in disrepute (well, anime and video gaming are pretty pop now, but I still don’t feel too out of place among the True Believers flocking to the Otaku conventions). I suspect that I get by in society largely on the basis of my dashing good looks and veneer of professionalism.

2. So, you like drawing?

I’m really more of a compulsive doodler. It’s a side-effect of having very restless hands, especially when I have to sit still and pay attention to stuff. Which is why a lot of my notebooks and class handouts wind up looking like this:

markers

But I’ve recently decided to maybe put some effort into intentionally drawing stuff. It’s therapeutic in its own way and maybe I’ll get better and finally get into Tumblr (do I really want to get into Tumblr?)

3. What about that academic career?

While I greatly appreciate the learning experience my MTS degree has been (particularly the opportunity to study the Biblical languages), I must admit that my thesis work has been giving me second thoughts about whether I’m cut out to be an academic. My current plan is to just take the time to work and figure stuff out, rather than jumping onto the PhD ship ASAP.

4. What do you see yourself as?

I’ve always identified as a writer. The trouble is that I’ve never been sure as to how to apply myself in that regard. As a kid, I assumed (as many do) that by this time in my life I’d be a novelist, but the road of prose fiction is a thorny one with many setbacks. Much to my surprise, this blog has been the most fulfilling and successful outlet for my scribbling to date.

5. Don’t you also have an RPG Maker game on the backburner?

Yup. It’s been stuck in limbo for over three years. I like to make terrible games, so don’t think I’m slacking off on the next Undertale or anything.

Now, for the nominations.

First of all, I’d like to reciprocally nominate Jubilare and Medieval Otaku. There’s nothing in the rules that says I can’t do this. I’ll leave it up to them to figure out the ramifications (well, Jubilare’s blog has been on hiatus for some time, so that might take a while).

Next up is T. Martin, whom I’ve collaborated with in the recent past. He also has a history of making stop motion youtube videos.

Lastly is the Overlord Bear, who posts fiction and music and stuff!

That leaves six nominations open. Any takers?

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Creative blogger award

  1. T Martin says:

    So is my response a post like this?

  2. Thanks very much for the nomination, Josh! I don’t mind making a post about this sometime, but I don’t know if I can make enough nominations. I don’t read much blogs on WordPress lately, see…and recently, I’ve been spending most of my time on reading fanfiction, listening to Vocaloid music, listening to covers of Vocaloid music, listening to original songs by those singers who often cover Vocaloid music plus Vocaloid music producers, hanging around on Twitter, and reading more fanfiction. Oh, and there’s household chores and, basically, slacking off again and again. And honestly, nominating 10-20 blogs is too much for me right now. I mean, I think I understand why the rules are like that, and we gotta develop our potential and all, but I’m stringent when it comes nominating, plus I’m being lazy when it comes to checking out other blogs, so yeah. The chance for the 5 facts thing gets me hyped up, though…yeah, I think I should be worried about myself some more.

    Ah, and speaking of the 5 facts thing, that seems like a nice way to break the ice here! I don’t think I’m a furry, but I think I can get along with such a person. Oh, and if you haven’t noticed, I’m also a Roman Catholic. Sucks to be a target of hasty generalizations, but I’ve found a lot more fun in being chill and in not fighting back in dirty ways, so yeah. God has been, is still, and will still be freaking awesome, even if a lot of people think He’s stupid. As for drawing, I also wanna practice drawing some more, and right now, I have the most confidence in drawing comedic illustrations. As for writing, r/WritingPrompts has been motivating me a lot more lately. Oh, and I’m trying to put more focus on writing short stories right now, ’cause right now, doing a multi-chapter series is too much for me. As for school, my next semester is coming, and I pray that I adjust much better in the shift from “I’mma laze around in my house” to “IT’S LEARNING TIME, BRICKS!” So yeah.

    Now, to finish this comment that’s probably long enough to be a typical blog post: I’ll try to make a response post to this sometime, and I wish you strength, Josh! \(^o^)

    • Oh, and one more thing: Medieval Otaku already nominated me for this award last year. I’ll add your name to the names of the nominators, though. And again, thanks very much for the nomination, Josh! \(^o^)

  3. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award (Again!) | The Overlord Bear's Den

Leave a Reply

