A (moral) NaNo victory

A few days ago, at around the 25,000 word mark, I completed the first Part/Book/Act of my NaNoWriMo novel. I stopped writing a couple of pages after that. This was partly because my schedule was getting tight, but also because I realized while writing that there were enough significant lacunae in my worldbuilding and research such that I wasn’t sure if I actually wanted to cross the finish line before addressing them.

I know that NaNo is supposed to be about quantity over quality, but I think that I’ve gone as far as haphazardness can take me with this story – a more methodical approach is required now. And so I find I’m more than willing to turn my sights away from the virtual badge of crossing the 50,000 word line.

Perhaps this is all an elaborate psychological excuse of my laziness, but I prefer to think of it as a sort of moral NaNo victory.

(On a related note, does anyone have good recommendations for books on Medieval chivalry and combat? I have a feeling that Medieval Otaku may have something to say here)

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in SF/Fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A (moral) NaNo victory

  1. I’ve paused a number of times at about the 25,000 word mark when I realized I needed to do more worldbuilding. Whenever I return back to the manuscript, the plot has changed far too much in my mind. This made me think I needed to build the world more before writing the story, which I tried, and this year I stopped at 50k (the story should be around 110k).
    I can’t understand writers who are able to power through a manuscript without stopping to worldbuild, but I need to emulate them. Every time I stop, the story is lost and becomes something else entirely when I return.

  2. Thanks for the mention and congratulations on reaching 25,000 words! As for medieval combat, I have a page dedicated to that: https://medievalotaku.wordpress.com/guide-to-becoming-a-scholar-of-swords-and-swordplay/. In regard to chivalry, one can’t beat the works of Chretien de Troyes, Wolfram von Eschenbach’s Parzival, Ivanhoe and Sir Quentin Durward by Sir Walter Scott, The Song of Roland, El Cid, and Men of Iron and the Arthurian tales of Howard Pyle come to mind. I’ve actually never read a book dedicated solely to the subject of chivalry.

Leave a Reply

