Not so final thoughts on IX

In spite of having blabbed for two lengthy posts about Final Fantasy IX, I still can’t get it out of my head. It definitely deserves to knock Mega Man 2 off of its pedestal on my personal top five list.

Even though the story is, at heart, pretty silly, I kinda find myself touched by it.

I think part of it is how excellent it is, by video game standards, in depicting the persistence of hope in the face of suffering and loss, and the reality of forgiveness. And I know something more about these things than I did fifteen years ago. So replaying IX wasn’t a nostalgic experience so much as it seemed to capture some thoughts, feelings and experiences that have crystallized over the years. Kind of like how Peter S. Beagle’s novel, The Last Unicorn, emotionally rang true for me when I read it shortly after being received into the Church, even though I can’t easily explain why.

I wouldn’t necessarily trot it out as an example of, “Games Can Be Art.” It’s more an example of how you can find a weird connection with some things that can seem otherwise frivolous.

Maybe I’m just too sentimental.

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in Our Allies in Nippon, pop culture and its discontents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not so final thoughts on IX

  1. jubilare says:

    I play games mostly for the feel of them, and I play old games, a lot, to touch base with some particular gestalt that I have left behind. My housemate and some of my friends are very well aware that when I’ve come up against writer’s block, I turn to the games. There’s just something there that isn’t in the games themselves, but is in my relationship to them.

  2. Luminas says:

    See previous post on this, but MAN you have good taste. o.O; The Last Unicorn is probably my favorite simple fairy tale, and it’s simply because Peter S. Beagle’s prose has an unquestionably philosophical bent to it.

    He talks a lot about Eternity and immortality, and the relations of it to mortals, and how all of us of a certain age would probably react like Molly Grue did if we saw our own “unicorns.” “I’m here now.” “Where were you twenty years ago when I was new, when I was one of those young maidens you always come to….How dare you. How DARE you come to me now, when I am THIS…”

    If you think of that statement as referring to the accumulation of sin and a loss of innocence, too, its potency only increases.

    • Josh W says:

      Heh, thanks for the compliment, and that’s a good observation. Beagle is a great author and I should read more of his books (and reread The Last Unicorn).

  3. Pingback: I got no strings | Res Studiorum et Ludorum

Leave a Reply

