The loyalty of a dragon?

dragonsloyaltyaward1

It was only until recently that I became aware of a, “Dragon’s Loyalty Award,” for bloggers by being offered said award by  Jubilare. In her nomination, she describes me as, “Profoundly Geeky, and Geekily Profound,” a testimonial which may replace my own, “A Thrilling Adventure Serial,” blurb. For both of these things, I thank her.

And now I have to nominate some 15 other bloggers…

A Pen Full of Vinegar – a bookish place from which I received my Liebster Award last year

Professor Mondo – A man who is paid to be bookish, and who was pestered by me last year with a Liebster Award. As that managed to provoke a response from him, I have decided to pester him again.

I would like to nominate Don at Zoopraxiscope, but his blog seems to be experiencing technical difficulties that have rendered communications problematic.

Medieval Otaku, who is currently my blog’s most regular commenter, deserves an award associated with loyalty. Also, like the above two, he was a willing recipient of the Liebster Award, thus inviting similar behavior now.

Catholic Movie Nerd, in order to get in his good graces before he becomes famous.

….I’ll leave it at that for now.

And now I apparently have to give seven interesting factoids about myself.

1. Act II of Siegfried is playing on my computer as I type this, providing either a fitting or ironic complement to the name of this award.

2. In addition to being an avid gamer, I have also dabbled in amateur game design. My first essay in the medium was done when I was about twelve years old. It was a very, very crude Chrono Trigger ripoff made on a program which was designed for kids to mess around with. My main accomplishment with it was figuring out how to get the program to simulate Final Fantasy’s ATB style combat.

This, in turn, inspired my friends and I to type up a word document which outlined a far more ambitious sequel (which was never actually made). When I got my hands on the Playstation RPGmaker, I went ahead and made a third installment on it. Subsequent installments were made on the various RPGmaker programs until I brought my so called “Episode Saga” to a close in my undergraduate sophomore year with Episode VII.

These games were all terrible, and no longer even exist. Other failed attempts at RPG games were made in the interim, including one during high school where I experimented with voice acting. A few years ago, I was out for a walk, listening to my ipod, when suddenly I heard teenage versions of me and my friends reciting awkward lines of dialogue. Somehow, the wav files from that game had been preserved and got uploaded onto my device.

A current game made with RPGmaker VX Ace has been in my own self-created development hell for over two years. This is because I keep second guessing myself and giving everything a do-over, and because my career and other hobbies have largely pushed this one to the background (and I suppose this gives the lie to my protests regarding RPGs…)

3. On a related note, my parents were apparently sure that I would turn out to be a computer science sort of guy instead of the philosophico-theologico-literary type (that is a type, isn’t it?) I am now.

4. I still have not read all the books of The Faerie Queene. I feel like such a fraud.

5. I am less ashamed about not having read Being and Time.

6. I don’t know how to drive.

7. I can sometimes get paralyzed by small decisions – for instance, in deciding what to write here.

 

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The loyalty of a dragon?

  1. T Martin says:

    Thank u very much for the shoutout!

  2. jubilare says:

    “Profoundly Geeky, and Geekily Profound” is, coming from me, high praise, and I believe it to be well-deserved. 🙂

    Those are some great personal tidbits.

  3. Thank you for the award! I also have not read all the books of The Fairie Queen. Your post reminds me that I should do so as soon as possible.

  4. Pingback: Something about a dragon? | Zoopraxiscope Too

  5. Pingback: Dragon’s Loyalty Award « Medieval Otaku

Leave a Reply

