RIP, Mr. Nimoy

No sooner had I completed my SoTT post when I found out that Leonard Nimoy had died. We’ve lost one of SF’s most iconic men.

Here’s the ending music to The Wrath of Khan, which includes the voice of Nimoy closing the movie out by reciting the Star Trek motto at 2:50. It’s what I thought of when I heard the news.

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in SF/Fantasy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to RIP, Mr. Nimoy

  1. jubilare says:

    A few friends of mine, and I, held a Star-Trek marathon wake. Nimoy and Pratchett. It has been a hard year already.

    • Josh W says:

      On that note, I have a confession to make: I’ve never read Terry Pratchett. Given that a lot of people whose taste I respect highly acclaim him, I assume that I’ve been greatly missing out.

      • jubilare says:

        You are. Go forth and seek him out. I haven’t read all of his works, but what I have, I love. The series that starts with Guards! Guards! is my favorite, followed closely by some of the books featuring Death. They’re quick and easy reads, but deceptively so.

        Make no mistake, he’s hilarious, but never in an empty way. He mixes humor with deadly seriousness, philosophy and humanity. He has a grim, but never, ever hopeless, view of things, and his wit is razor-sharp. I’m sad that he is gone so soon, but glad that he was so very prolific.

Leave a Reply

