In which I am nominated for a Liebster award

Fellow blogger Amyclae has nominated me for a Liebster Award! As this is the first time my blog has been nominated for anything, I am quite excited!

It turns out that this award requires a somewhat convoluted blog post from me: I am to list 11 random facts about myself, answer 11 questions asked by Amyclae, nominate 11 other blogs with limited readerships, and then pose 11 questions for them to answer.

So let’s get started (I apologize in advance for the crappy formatting. WordPress is being recalcitrant, and I am losing my patience)

1. My left ear is a bit pointy at the top, like an elf or a Vulcan ear. But this is usually obscured by my hair.

  1. I like animals, and have rarely been without a cat in my life.

  2. I have a slight fear of thunder and lightning, but I do not show it.

  3. My backup plan, in case I did not get into my Masters program, was to take ballet lessons.

  4. There have been times in my life where I have contemplated joining the army.

  5. The Total amount of money I have made from writing thus far is $50. It was made when, as a kid, I sold a review of the game Jet Force Gemini to the National Post, which was experimenting with a children’s section at the time.
  6. If I were to go back to undergraduate studies, I’d probably major in linguistics and mathematics.
  7. The furthest east I have traveled is Ireland.
  8. The two authors who made a serious reader out of me were Stephen King and Miguel de Cervantes.
  9. The only sport which I have ever felt some sort of affinity for is fencing.
  10. My Christian name is Louis (pronounced “Louie”, ala francais). I could have just re-committed myself to Joshua, but who am I to turn down the opportunity to have another name?

And now, for Amyclae’s questions.

What is the best essay, or essay collection, you have ever read?

On Fairy-Stories, by J.R.R. Tolkien

Favorite fiction novel?

The Man Who Was Thursday, by G.K. Chesterton
Favorite nonfiction, of any bookish genre?

I am in the process of discovering Patrick Leigh Fermor, and one of his works may indeed fall into this category. Check back on me later.
What is the author I should know about but I do not?

I am not sure if the “I” here refers to Amyclae or myself, so I will answer this question twice: you should probably read Alan Jacobs, is you are not already familiar with him. I feel like I should read David Lindsay.
Why do you write?

First of all, because I am good at it. But as I grow older, I find that it increasingly becomes a compulsion. Certain thoughts must be articulated. I find that Tolkien, in in a letter to his son, Christopher, expressed this nicely: “I think also that you are suffering from suppressed ‘writing’…I sense amongst all your pains (some merely physical) the desire to express your feeling about good, evil, fair, foul in some way: to rationalize it, and prevent it just festering.”

I also, in spite of my introverted nature, have always enjoyed the sort of attention that comes from giving a performance.
Is there such a thing as too much pie? And if so, why are you a terrorist?

 

pielol
If you could elicit one completely truthful answer from everyone you met, with no social cost, what would the question be?

Have you actually read all six books of the Faerie Queene?
What is an intellectual to you?

Someone who has an opinion, and a fancy degree attached to that opinion.
Trigger-warnings. Explain.

Genuine cases of PTSD aside, we have on the one hand teachers avoiding responsibility, and on the other students avoiding ideas that could challenge or disturb them.
If you could insert one book or play or literary work into the Anglosphere’s high school curriculum what would it be? Would you?

The Divine Comedy.
What is a blog I, Amyclae, should follow?

If you don’t already, Rod Dreher.

 

Here are the bloggers I nominate:

Aliens in this World

The Groom’s Family

The Root and the Pearl

Professor Mondo

Medieval Otaku (is there a rule against someone being nominated more than once?)

Don

Emily Ann

Oh, for the love of chant

Catholicism for Cutters should receive a nomination, but is currently inaccessible

Lastly,

My friend Rob, who has been shamefully ignoring his blog.

My friend Andrew, who has also been ignoring his blog (even though the style of his is a bit ill-suited for this sort of post)

 

And here are my questions:

1. Prog rock or punk?

2. What book(s) are you reading right now?

3. If you could instantaneously become fluent in one language which you are not already, which would it be?

4. Name one piece of media, literary, musical, visual etc. which you believe has had a significant effect on your life.

5. Has your worldview ever undergone dramatic changes? How many times?

6. Final Fantasy or Dragon Quest?

7. Favourite kind of verse?

8. Are you a bot pretending to be a human? Please type: rI45yeARal3

9. Favourite short story collection?

10. Is it obvious that I am straining to come up with questions at this point?

11. Would you rather be in Agamemnon’s army, or Odysseus’ crew?

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in Assigned Reading, fragments of culture, pop culture and its discontents and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In which I am nominated for a Liebster award

  1. Amyclae says:

    “I am not sure if the “I” here refers to Amyclae or myself.”

    Good for you that you picked up on the discrepancy. It was a way to ask two questions. Either someone would answer both or pick one–either way they’re answering something about themselves in addition to the recommendation.

    I’ll make sure to check out that corner of the AC.

    And I do not think there is any rule against several nominations.

    Thank you for the this post! Best of luck on future one’s.

  2. tancos says:

    Um, thank you. It may take a while to write a suitable response, so please be patient.

    I’m pleased to see that I’m not the only balletomane around. My occasional screen name, “Tancos,” is Hungarian for “dancer.”

  3. Pingback: As They Say in Hollywood… | Professor Mondo

  4. Pingback: “I lieb’ ya, I lieb’ ya, baby, I lieb’ ya. Now lieb’ me alone” | Zoopraxiscope Too

  5. Thanks for the nomination! I love the question which you would wish to be answered truthfully! I myself have never even gotten out of book one of The Faerie Queen. Someday, I’ll finish it–if only because I read that it did have a great influence on Tolkien.

    • Josh W says:

      You’re welcome (and you,too, Don).

      I myself have only made it through the first three books (and mutabilitie cantos), and that is largely due to my English major. Book III is interesting in that the narrative contains a causal loop. Evidently time is a bit more fast and loose in faerie.

  6. Pingback: Liebster Award Again! « Medieval Otaku

Leave a Reply

