Day 1. A is for Anglophilia

 

It’s time to get this contest started.

Dictionary.com defines anglophilia as, “a strong admiration or enthusiasm for England, its people, and things English.” Having been exposed to English literature a good amount of my life, I’ve developed a sort of fondness for that island – or at least an imaginary version of that island which I have reconstructed from all the books, movies and shows that I’ve watched. There was, indeed, even a time when the Church of England exerted a bit of a pull on me before I wound up swimming the Tiber. The question of whether actually going to England would be fun, or just provoke a kind of Stendhal Syndrome is an open one.

Hence a sub-theme of this particular run of the A to Z contest will be English lit. Expect to see some familiar faces popping up.

On the flip side of things, I have a bit of cultural self-loathing to confess to: I don’t like Canadian literature very much. It apparently attracts an international audience these days, but I just have not, for the life of me, been able to develop a substantial interest in it.

 

(A is also for Applejack, my second favourite of the Mane 6)

Applejack-my-little-pony-friendship-is-magic-20527293-570-402

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in fragments of culture, pop culture and its discontents and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1. A is for Anglophilia

  1. I love that you qualified that it is your version of the island!

  2. Even though we have a huge repertoire in Indian fiction and lots of magnificent Indian writers, I have a strong affinity to books set in England. In fact I just finished Helen Simonson’s, Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand. It’s an amazing book. Looking forward to your insights 🙂

Leave a Reply

