How not to Culture War

So…vox.com has recently come under fire for hiring Brandon Ambrosino, a gay writer who is taking a lot of flak for saying that the gay community should respond with love and understanding towards its opponents , critiquing some aspects of the “born this way” rhetoric, etc.

Given some of the nasty things that have been said about him, you’d think that Ambrosino was some sort of doormat. But in reading him he just comes across as a guy who thinks for himself. And pretty unapologetically gay and proud.

One of the things that contributed to the, uh, divorce between the gay community and myself a few years back was shit like this. The notion that you had to subscribe to this particular, narrow vision of queer leftist politicking, that you couldn’t criticize any of it really started to bug me. There were so many occasions where I was biting my lip because I’m a coward I’m easygoing and knew that if I said what was on my mind I’d start an argument or something. I mean, ultimately it was God who got me to cut and run, but this certainly made it easier. “Do I even really have anything in common with these people?” etc.

If Ambrosino is bad, then I’m frigging Anakin Skywalker.

It seems to be human nature that any group that finds itself ascending – particularly after a period of persecution – tends to turn inward and start pointlessly cannibalizing its own members. The Church certainly has suffered from this.

It’s still disheartening to see, even among people who are now on the other side of the ideological fence for me. I don’t want people to confirm what my anxieties tell me.

About Josh W

A Catholic. Likes to write stuff and draw pictures.
This entry was posted in fragments of culture, Politics as Opium and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How not to Culture War

Leave a Reply

