Blogging From A to Z Challenge day 17: Q is for Quick Post

This post will be a quick post because I am rather tired and have some Greek nouns to decline before the day is done.

Why am I declining Greek nouns? I’m taking a course in Biblical Greek, and for the first time in…well only a year really, I have to know stuff and be prepared on a weekly basis.

Why am I taking Biblical Greek? Well, mainly because I saw the opportunity and decided to nab it before it passed me by.

Here’s a depressing thought: Most of my technical knowledge of grammar is the result of studying Latin at university. In my English major, we often couldn’t be bothered to touch the stuff. Not to mention the fact that I got through much of Elementary and High school without having to deal with it.

Can we please just bring back the Trivium? Or can we at least just make English a tad more intellectually reputable?

(more info on the A to Z Challenge)

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in fragments of culture, higher education, Latina Est Gaudium and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging From A to Z Challenge day 17: Q is for Quick Post

  1. WOW, Biblical Greek, I imagine that is an interesting class. WAY over my head though! I’m in AWE!
    Connie
    A to Z-ing to the end
    Peanut Butter and Whine

    • Josh W says:

      It’s looking good so far.

      I’m something of a late-bloomer when it comes to language. French class was mandatory for me until Grade 10 (guess where I live), and I was always frustrated, bored, and never did very well with it. Then in my Freshman year I enrolled in and subsequently dropped German. But eventually…eventually…something clicked, I guess.

Leave a Reply

