Happy 1st birthday, Res Studiorum et Ludorum!

It’s hard to believe, but a year ago today, my first post went up.

So how have things gone over the past 365 days? Well, I promised, “some gratuitous popery, some pretentious Latin, feverish rants and possibly even some logical symbolism”, and I think I have at least delivered on two of those fronts. There’s been a dearth of logical symbolism (which is probably for the best), and not that much Latin, pretentious or otherwise (but hey: the title is still pretentiously in Latin).

It was also a bit uncanny to see all the new Catechumens at Mass last Sunday. But then my own time in the Catechumenate feels so long ago. Going to Confession, receiving Communion, praying the Rosary and the Hours, etc. already feel so embedded in my life that it’s almost weird to think that they weren’t around for most of my life. Part of this is the gradualness of it all: while there were obviously major landmarks along the way, this was something which I was incrementally drawn into, with RCIA just being the final leg of the journey; so just how far I’ve gone is something which I don’t often notice until I cast a look back.

Incidentally, today is also the Feast of St. Nicholas (yes, that St. Nick), which is something I didn’t realize when I started this blog. It is indeed an honor to have the anniversary of this blog coincide with the day dedicated to the original Santa Claus.

Saint_Nicholas

Ora pro nobis

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

