In defense of other people defending moms

Evidently there’s been some sort of kerfuffle over Hilary Rosen attacking Ann Romney for being a stay-at-home mom. The Gomorgons and Simcha Fisher  have some fine words to say, from different angles. In particular, I like this bit from Fisher’s post:

In other words, I really can’t speak for stay-at-home moms, and I really can’t speak for working moms.  I really can’t speak for women who choose to work, and I really can’t speak for women who have no choice but to work.  I’m just not a typical example of any of these things.  I hate the liberal misrepresentations of what a stay-at-home mom is like; but I also squirm under the sometimes cruel conservative caricatures of what a working mom is supposedly like.  I’m just not any kind of typical mother.

But as I said these words to myself, I realized — well, damn.  No one is.  No one is a typical woman with typical problems.  Sure, we all fall more or less into various broad categories, but who do you know who is utterly describable?  Who does things with one motive, for one reason, to achieve one particular goal, and stays with it through her entire life?  No one I know.

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Politics as Opium, Stuff other people said. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

