…And we’re back

So it happened – I no longer have to explain to people what the word “Catechumen” means, and simply call myself a Catholic. I did spend much of Holy Week and the Easter Triduum fretting over things, and having officially gone over to the other side, I still feel rather much the same. But I think that’s a good thing: in the past few months I have been viewing my reception into the Church at the Easter Vigil as something that would be this big cathartic climax, tying up all the loose ends of my life up to that point. What was really impressed on me on Saturday was that I am still a work in progress, and that that’s okay. I felt anxious when I went forward for First Communion, and even had to battle a little thought that was saying that I shouldn’t take it. It’s going to be an uphill battle, but I know I don’t need to depend on mushy feelings or anything like that for God to work His wonders – I just need to trust Him.

I’ll comment a little bit more on how Lent went for me when I have more time, but for now, Happy Easter, everyone! Alleluia

About Josh W

A Catholic; an occasional writer.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, What Is This Beast Called Man. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

